Careers | Phone Book | A - Z Index

CRD, NERSC Staff Honored with 2016 Director’s Achievement Awards

October 25, 2016

Several staff in the Berkeley Lab Computing Sciences organization are recipients of this year’s Director’s Awards for Exceptional Achievement. The honorees will be recognized in a ceremony to be held Nov. 17 at 3 p.m. in the Bldg. 50 Auditorium.


Hari Krishnan

The Director’s Awards program rewards significant achievements of Lab employees. Each year, these awards are given for accomplishments, leadership, collaboration, multi-disciplinary science, cross-divisional projects and commitment to excellence in support of the Lab’s mission and strategic goals. Berkeley Lab employees submit nominations of individuals and teams, which are then reviewed by a Lab-wide Director’s Awards committee.

Here is a list of this year’s CS award recipients:

Early Scientific Career: Hari Krishnan, Computational Research Division
For sustained and exceptional efforts in software architecture and technical management over a prolonged period that have helped numerous science projects meet key objectives and deliverables, and have increased the visibility of lab science programs to DOE and the scientific community.

oliver ruebel 2010

Oliver Rübel

Early Scientific Career: Oliver Rübel, Computational Research Division
For the conception, design, and implementation of the OpenMSI system, an award-winning exemplary cross-divisional effort enabling breakthrough science through a combination of technologies for data and computing.

Operations/Safety: Wang Hall (CRT Project) Energization Team
For the safe and successful energization of Wang Hall and the Cori computer was made possible by the close teamwork and integration of contributors from across NERSC, Facilities, EH&S, Protective Services and Procurement. Here are the NERSC personnel who were part of the Energization Team:

  • Jeff Grounds
  • Ernie Jew
  • Brent Draney
  • Thomas Davis
  • Tina Declerck
  • Elizabeth Bautista
  • Jeff Broughton