Careers | Phone Book | A - Z Index

Reorganization Leads to New CRD, NERSC Center Divisions

June 26, 2002

The Laboratory’s National Energy Research Scientific Computing (NERSC) Division is being reorganized into two new divisions – the NERSC Center Division and the Computational Research Division, Lab Director Charles Shank announced earlier this month.

The goal of the reorganization, which was outlined in the NERSC five-year strategic proposal written and submitted to DOE last year, is to heighten the visibility of the NERSC Center as a national user facility supported by DOE’s Office of Science. NERSC currently provides computing resources to 2,100 users as national laboratories, research centers and universities across the country.

“The NERSC Center Division will continue with its highly successful mission to field and support the nation’s best unclassified high-performance computing user facility,” Shank wrote in announcing the reorganization.

The new Computational Research Division will carry out computational science, computer science and applied mathematics research and development in high-performance computing and distributed systems.

“This is an opportunity to enhance the mission of both new divisions and to ensure LBNL's leadership in high performance computing facilities and research,” said Bill McCurdy, Associate Laboratory Director for Computing Sciences. “The reorganization will allow each division to more effectively focus on its mission.”

Horst Simon will be the NERSC Center Division Director and Bill Kramer will be the NERSC Center General Manager and division deputy. Horst Simon will also be the director of the Computational Research Division, which will comprise the High Performance Computing Research Department led by Juan Meza and the Distributed Systems Department led by Bill Johnston. David Bailey will serve as Chief Technologist for both divisions.